WV State Fair 2016

If there’s one thing about me you should know, it’s that I love carbs. French fries, mozzarella sticks, bread, popcorn, nachos: You name a carb and there’s an 80% chance I’ll enjoy it. When the WV State Fair comes every August, it’s only appropriate that I inhale carbs that will go my hips and I know I’ll complain about a month later. Well, I spent 3 days at the fair working the Division of Rehabilitation Services booth for work and 1 evening with Matt and friends, so I had four days to indulge myself. I am usually a pretty healthy eater, but I ate nachos all 4 days I was there (GASP!). I also may or may not have had a root beer float, popcorn, a chicken gyro, a WV famous cinnamon roll (in my defense, Matt and I did share it), and the also famous Ben-Ellen cinnamon sugar donut. I won’t lie when I say every single calorie was worth it 🙂  The fair only comes once a year, so might as well take advantage of it, right?

IMG_6059

The fair is a huge attraction to West Virginians and individuals of the surrounding states. There are rides, games, lottery stands, horse shows, a calf birthing exhibit, rabbits on display, and more. It truly is an experience for those who have never been to a fair. It’s not huge by any means, but it’s a ton of fun. I can’t get over how expensive everything was though. It is so easy to spend $50-$100 on food and games that before you know it, your wallet is empty. $1.25 a ticket for a ride?! That’s insane. Matt and I went on the Wild Mouse, and I must say that I don’t know when I became such a chicken. I LOVE roller coasters, I really do, but there’s something about the jerking and sudden stops on the Wild Mouse that made me yell in Matt’s ear the whole time with “AHH!” “I HATE YOU” and “It’s official. My life will end on this thing.” I can’t handle spinning rides without getting sick, so I’m pretty much a bore in the rides department. All in all, the night Matt and I were there with friends was to celebrate my dear friend Amy’s birthday, and I hope she had a great time.

IMG_6060

“I see nothing in space as promising as the view from a Ferris wheel.” -E.B.White

IMG_6074

Love this small town we live in.

IMG_6070

Our annual fair photo

Leave a Reply

