Rest and Relaxation

I’m a go-getter. When I am determined to do something, I do it, whether it’s 9am or 9pm. I love checking things off my list and feeling productive. However, doing too many things can cause exhaustion, which I’ve been known to push through. Well, I think God has been trying to tell me to slow down and I’ve avoided Him. Up until last night that is. Matt’s been gone since 6am Tuesday morning, so I’ve had a lot of time to myself (again) this week.Β I worked all week like usual, along with caring for the pets, the yard, preparing for family visits over the next week, and working out daily. I had full intentions of spending this Saturday at the humane society walking dogs since I haven’t been there in almost a month and make sure Matt has a home cooked meal when he gets home tonight. Poor guy hasn’t had one in weeks and I’ve been living on smoothies because I hate cooking for one. I was invited to go white water rafting (which I’ve never done before) tomorrow with coworkers, so I wanted to get as much done as possible before then.

Apparently God had other plans. I was walking Miner and Leia last night like I do EVERY SINGLE DAY and sprained my good ankle when I stepped on some gravel. I must have looked ridiculous hobbling home with 120 pounds of dog in front of me. Now, for those who don’t know, I injured my left ankle stepping off a friend’s porch last year and my doctor suspects I may have aggravated an old injury, therefore, surgery may be in my near future. My right foot has been my only good foot for a year and now it’s definitely sprained. I woke up this morning with a lump on the side of my foot the size of a golf ball. It’s been wrapped, put in Epsom salts, I’ve taken Ibuprofen and Arnica, and have used ice over the past 18 hours. I literally have done everything I can to keep it at bay so it doesn’t get worse, but I have to spend ALL DAY sitting with it elevated. It’s torture. I have to keep telling myself this is a sign for me to take it easy. The dogs need to be walked today, but there’s no way I could walk half a mile right now (much less two miles). My laundry is not done. The floor isn’t vacuumed and the porch isn’t cleaned off like I wanted it to be.Β My to-do list is sitting on the kitchen counter waiting for Matt to cross items off once he gets home later πŸ˜‰ I am still planning on rafting tomorrow if at all possible, so I know I have to keep it easy today.

Spending today on the couch was not how I intended to spend my Saturday, but it is important to take it slow sometimes. I rarely, if ever, just stop and absorb things around me. Heck, as I am sitting here typing, I can look up at my living room and see beauty in things I never really noticed before. My snake plant is still alive, which is more than I can say for other things I’ve attempted to plant before. Miner is so peaceful sleeping next to me that it’s wonderful to see him so content. I can see my workout calendar on the wall and realize how fortunate I am to have a body that is strong and complete a PiYo workout in one session. I see my Temple owl on my wall and am thankful I was able to achieve a Master’s degree and pursue an education not everyone gets to experience. I really do have a lot to be thankful for, including much needed rest and relaxation.

β€œAh! There is nothing like staying at home, for real comfort.”
― Jane Austen

Leave a Reply

