A Weekend In

If you would have told me six years ago in college that I would have enjoyed 48 hours to myself while my husband visits his family in North Carolina, I would have thought you were nuts. I am pretty social by nature and have always spent time with friends or family when I had  the chance. However, that has all changed since college ended. I now spend 40+ hours a week working with people and actually treasure a few minutes by myself. This weekend was just what the doctor ordered.

Matt left Friday night to visit his family in North Carolina, so I had the whole weekend to myself. At first, I really did think I would be bored and do nothing but household chores all weekend to stay busy. Boy, was I wrong. I went grocery shopping and cleaned (#adultlife), but also took that time to focus on myself. As a social worker, self care is top priority and it’s so easy to lose focus of that when you’re constantly looking after other people. I found the time to meal plan for this upcoming week (blog post coming later on my method and why it works), managed to hardcore coupon for the first time in weeks (see entry here on some of my tips and tricks to save your hard-earned cash), work out, and take time for some fun activities.

These lovely faces are what I woke up to this morning:

img_6338

I’m pretty sure she’s glad to have the pillow all to herself 😉

img_6339

Never alone

Our dogs sleep with us every night, and I know that is debatable on whether it’s good or bad, but we don’t care. It works for us, and we love it. They are our protectors, and I can definitely say I feel safer with them in the house. Occasionally the cats will join us, but that’s usually not until we need to get up in the morning and then are torn between actually getting up and moving them or staying in bed just a little bit longer. Thankfully I had nowhere to be this morning, so I laid in bed until 11:00 with them 🙂

As the day went on, I saw animals everywhere I went. That’s usually how it goes in this house…five pets, small house! Yes, the throw pillow does say “I like big mutts and I cannot lie.” Thank you Zulily for your awesome deals and late night shopping sprees.

img_6340img_6341

A few weeks ago, I decided to purchase a small pillow and some fabric at Walmart with the idea of making my first actual sewing project. Well, I had the time today and thought why not go for it. I inherited my YiaYia’s sewing machine when she passed away in May and believe me, I wish I had learned more from her. I haven’t even yet figured out how to put new thread or a new needle on, so I’m using black thread for everything right now. The pillow isn’t perfect, but I winged it and think it actually came out pretty good. Gotta start somewhere right?

img_6343

Front side

img_6344

Back side

All in all, this was a fantastic weekend. Would I want Matt gone more often? Heck no;he’s already gone enough, especially during the week. However, one weekend by myself was perfect, and I feel so much more rejuvenated for the hectic holiday season that is rapidly approaching. Now husband, COME HOME!!

Leave a Reply

